The Griggs – Skype – Google Voice – Call Forwarding Smash-Up

Here’s a way Teg Griggs is recreating Ribbit Mobile:

I think I've recovered the key functionality: Call from home phone with mobile number, voice to text voicemail transcriptions, and softphone.

Here's what I did:

  • Subscribed to Skype unlimited nationwide calling for $2.99 a month (+15% discount if you buy for a year).
  • Changed the outbound caller-id to my cell phone (SMS verification required).
  • Got a Skype In number ($60/year - 50% discount = $30).
  • Purchased Connect Me Skype ATA ($50 - $2 Skype Out Credit = $48) - http://www.freetalkconnect.com/me/
  • Got a Google Voice Number.
    • Added my Skype In number as the number to forward to (call back verification)
    • Added my Mobile Phone and set it to receive Voice-to-text voicemail as SMS (call back verification)
    • Turned off forwarding to my Mobile Phone from Google Voice
  • Forwarded my mobile phone's conditional call forwarding to the Google Voice Number

Ta da!  Ribbit Mobile using two fully supported voice services!

Let us all know how it works Ted!

One thought on “The Griggs – Skype – Google Voice – Call Forwarding Smash-Up

Leave a Reply

