AirPlay versus Reflector – Opinions anyone?

Trying out AirServer and Reflector.

Both do the same thing —

AirServer: allows you to receive AirPlay feeds, similar to an Apple TV, so you can stream content or Mirror your display from your iOS devices or Mountain Lion.

Reflector: Wirelessly mirror your iPad, iPhone or iPod Touch screen to any Mac or PC.

There are some minor differences. For example, Reflector allows one to show a moc-device frame of either black or white while AirServer does not. AirServer can be installed on five devices per license, while Reflector can only be installed on one.

If you’d like to try AirServer, use this link for a seven day trial and I’ll get an additional 3 days tacked on to my trial.

If you’d like to try Reflector, the trial version only runs for 10 minutes.

Let me know which one you prefer!

4 thoughts on “AirPlay versus Reflector – Opinions anyone?

  1. I have used Apple TV, Airserver, and just recently, Reflector. To me, Airserver and Reflector are better mirroring devices for the classroom than Apple TV, which needs to have the airplay reset frequently, at least in my school environment. And, it requires more steps….I have to use the projector remote to go to input, hdmi, then turn on mirroring on the iPad. With Airserver and Reflector, I just have to turn on mirroring.

    I was happy with Airserver except when I used Aurasma to show auras…some of the auras are on their side and there isn’t a way to rotate them.

    However, in Reflector, you can force change the orientation, thus showing the aura correctly. This is better for me, since i use Aurasma as part of my presentations at conferences and district inservices.

  2. Good one Katy. Hadn’t needed to force orientation change (without simply rotating my iPad) so didn’t realize that’s a feature of Reflector and not AirServer. I’ve been 100% satisfied with AirServer so far (and like the multiple machine license feature the best).

Leave a Reply

