I hate Foursquare’s Swarm and here’s why:

I hate Swarm and here’s why:

OK, I’m not a millennial.  And like everyone else who is ‘old’ – lets say 30’s and up, can no longer read micro-fonts of light colors on backgrounds of slightly lighter colors.  The pale orange on white color scheme of Swarm is impossible to read in daylight without specs.  IMHO, stupid.  People check in all over the world in all kinds of conditions.  Using pale orange on white is a 20-something design decision.  That’s fine if you want to cut out the +30’s market – I get it.  But if you don’t, and want to include the part of your 50M+ subs that are +30’s, then your designers are not thinking.

What’s the point of a dedicated check in app?  One of the best things about 4sq app was seeing notes and images about the places I’m checking into along with who is there.  As far as I can tell, Swarm offers me absolutely nothing except a breakdown of my connections by concentric distance to me.  And I care that 200 of my friends are greater than 20 miles from me?  Really?

To get the great 4sq value I’ve enjoyed to up until now, I still have to use 4sq – ping-ponging back and forth between a “check-in” Swarm interface that is almost impossible to read and the “real” 4sq.

And Swarm doesn’t remember the people whom I most often check in with.  That was a nice touch with 4sq.  When I tap the “with” icon, 4sq would put my most frequently “checked in with” people on top.  Not so with Swarm.  No, with Swarm, I have to type in the name of the people I’m checking in with EVERY TIME.  What a pain.

And then there’s the little touches like the check-in-with spacing.  With 4sq, when I checked in with someone, 4sq would add “_with_<person>” – a time saver on top of the time saver of remembering the people I check in with.  Not so with Swarm.  Not only do I have to find the person every time, I also have to remember to add a “space” then “with” then “space”.  What happened?  Did you guys hire some new coders with no user sense that didn’t even check to see how the old UI worked?

For the past 10 days I’ve used Swarm multiple times a day.  I cannot find ONE SINGLE point of value in the Swarm (oh, sure, I can give up all my contact information to make “texting and calling” a one-click operation, but honestly, that’s no big value.}

To get value, I still have to use 4sq but endure the poor UI and app-switching of Swarm.

What am I missing?

One thought on “I hate Foursquare’s Swarm and here’s why:

  1. SWARM IS A FAIL! I am glad the company is trying to add new features, but when I realized their foursquare update was a whole new app, I got pissed off. That was sneaky, or at least it felt that way. I hate Swarm with a passion. I don’t want an app to tell me what I like. I know what I like! I could easily look for things around me with the other UI. This company is making a mistake. Apps that succeed are easy to use, and don’t change much. The checkin feature is silly. I didn’t know where to refresh the gps geofencing option, it tried to check me into the wrong places, then I realized I had to tap a sliver to show the list of locations. They are over thinking it. It’s not fun anymore…

Leave a Reply

